Swivel Account Inactive
Swivel can be set to lock accounts that have not been used for a specific period of time. The Swivel logs show one to many Swivel Account Inactive Messages. Users may receive Swivel Account Inactive Emails.
The Swivel logs may show one to many Swivel Account Inactive Messages. Users may receive Swivel Account Inactive Emails.
One or more Swivel accounts may become locked in the status or User Administration page.
Inactive Users Configuration
Inactive account expiry (days): default: 0. The number of days after which the account will be locked if it is not used.
Account expiry is a global setting on the Swivel Administration console under Policy/General. If account expiry is not required then it can be set to 0 days for no expiry. locked accounts should be unlocked as required. Account Expiry time is counted from the date that the account will expire. For example if it is set to 100 days, on day 100 the account will be locked. If a user has an alert set, they will receive a notification of the account being locked. If account expiry is set then a large number of account may be expired at one time if they have not been used.
If the expired number of days is changed then it will apply to the users since their last login date rather than since the account expiry change date. Users who have exceeded this value will be locked at the next inactive account check.
The Inactive time is counted from when the account was created, unless the user logs in when the inactive time is reset. If an account is unlocked then the inactive time is NOT reset, and will be locked at the next inactive account check.
Account inactive warning (days): default 0. The number of days to warn the user in advance of account expiry.
This is set under Transport/User Alerts. If the Account inactive warning is set to 10 days and the Inactive account expiry is set to 100 days, then the user will start to receive inactive account warning messages after 90 days of inactivity.
Inactive user check: default: Every day at 11.00. How often the users are checked for inactive users.
This is set under which is configured under server/jobs. When the inactive server job runs, the accounts are processed to see which ones should be locked, and a message is sent to the user. If Account expiry is set it will be resent every time there is a check (default daily) until the account is marked as inactive. To have it sent less often, change how often it is run. For further information on custom schedules see Schedule.
Implementing Inactive Account Expiry
If this feature is enabled on an existing system, then at the next inactive account expiry check, any accounts that have not been used and exceed the inactive account expiry setting, will become locked.